NEET 2017 to be Conducted in 8 Regional Languages

NEET 2017

National Eligibility cum Entrance Test – Under Graduate (NEET UG) 2017 will be held in eight different regional languages namely – Assamese, Gujarati, Bengali, Kannada, Marathi, Tamil, Telugu and Oriya – in addition to English and Hindi.

“Under the directions of Health Minister J.P. Nadda, and after rigorous and extensive consultations with state governments about their examination pattern and other related aspects, it has been decided that the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET-UG) from AY 2017-18 will be conducted in following 8 languages,” said a statement.

In case, a candidate opts for a regional language, he would be allotted an examination centre in the state where that language is used predominantly. For instance, if a candidate chooses to give NEET in Gujarati language then he would be allotted an examination centre only in the state of Gujarat. He will not be allotted examination centre in any other state. Such candidates will be given a bilingual test booklet during the examination. This means that in addition to the language opted by them, they will also get a copy of the questions in the English language. In case, there is any sort of ambiguity in the translation of the given questions the English version shall be treated as final.

The candidates need to select their language preference at the time of filling the application form for NEET 2017. The language option cannot be changed post the submission of the application form. This is because the centres shall be allotted based on the language opted for the question paper. Thus, it is imperative for the candidates to be cautious while filling the application form.

NEET replaced the All India Pre-Medical Test (AIPMT) last year. It is mandatory for admission in all-India medical and dental colleges. No other state can conduct its separate medical entrance.

NEET 2017 shall be conducted on the 7th of May.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *