NTSE Eligibility Criteria and Scholarship Schemes

NTSE Eligibility Criteria

National Talent Search Examination (NTSE ), a flagship activity initiated by NCERT in the year 1963, identifies genius minds to nurture their talent further. Fields such as engineering, medicine, sciences, social sciences, law and management are covered under this scheme. It helps talented minds by offering them financial help by way of monthly scholarship. Let us learn more about NTSE eligibility criteria and scholarship scheme.

NTSE Eligibility Criteria

The scholarship scheme has a two step process. The selection is done by the states/ UTs via a written exam under Step I. Those who qualify in the same are eligible to sit for the step 2 examination held by NCERT.
Only students studying in standard X in recognized schools can sit for the step 1 examination held by states/ UTs where the schools are situated. There is no domicile restriction.
Scholarship Scheme
Based on the examination held, 1000 scholarships are given to students sitting for Class X examinations.
For courses in Commerce, Basic Sciences and Social Sciences scholarship is given up to Ph. D. level.
For professional courses such as Medicine, Management, Law and Engineering scholarship is given up to post graduation level.
15% scholarships have been reserved for students from the SC category, 7.5% scholarships for those from the ST category and 3% for those belonging to the Physically Challenged Group.
An amount of Rs. 1,250/- per month is given for class XI to XII.
An amount of Rs. 2,000/- per month is awarded per month for Undergraduate and Post- Graduate courses.

Sharing is caring!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *